Doug Rice, the President and long-time lead anchor for Performance Radio Network’s NASCAR radio broadcasts who is currently celebrating his Doug’s Last Lap farewell to the airwaves, was inducted Sunday into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame® prior to the start of the Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 400.

There ceremony took place in the speedway’s infield media center, with Rice being presented with his Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame® plaque by Texas Motor Speedway Executive Vice President & General Manager Mark Faber.

It was announced Feb. 5 that 2024 would be Rice’s last fulltime season behind the PRN microphones to call NASCAR races held at Speedway Motorsports facilities or races it promotes at other facilities. The Asheville, N.C. native has called every NASCAR Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway since it opened in 1997.

Rice has also played an important role with the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame® through the years via his service on the election committee as well as serving as emcee for many Speedway Children’s Charities’ fundraising banquets.

Rice joined Speedway Motorsports in 1988 as Program and Affiliate Director for PRN. In 1992, he moved into the booth as anchor, and has since called play-by-play on 210 NASCAR Cup Series races. His distinctive, on-air presence and delightful blend of approachability and wit has informed and inspired NASCAR fans from all over the world.

Some of His Favorite Calls:

  • Dale Earnhardt, Jr.’s first wins in the Xfinity Series and Cup Series at Texas Motor Speedway
  • Guest-appearance call of the 2024 Daytona 500

 Some of His Achievements

  • The only broadcaster to call both the 2015 Indianapolis 500 and Coca-Cola 600 on the same day
  • Served as lead host on more than 1,000 PRN “Fast Talk” shows
  • Oversaw growth of PRN broadcasts from two Cup events in 1988 to 14 in 2024

Some of His Honors

  • Three-time National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Broadcaster of the Year (2007, 2022 and 2023)
  • 2022 NMPA Joe Littlejohn Award
  • 2020 North Carolina Motorsports Association Jim Hunter Memorial Media Award

The balance of Texas Motor Speedway’s major event season includes Fuel Fest (April 20), the Goodguys Rod & Custom/American Flat Track/Pate Swap Meet tripleheader weekend (April 25-28), C-10 Nationals (May 10-12), LS Fest (May 18), Bandas y Trocas (May 25), Solar Car Challenge (July 11-17), SuperMotocross World Championship Playoff Round 2, Goodguys Rod & Custom (Sept. 27-29), American Sprint Car Series (Oct. 4-5), the High Limit Sprint Car Series inaugural season finale (Oct. 11-12) and the Gordy’s Hwy 30 Fest Texas (Oct. 17-20). 

For more information, please visit