The Solar Car Challenge returns to Texas Motor Speedway from July 14-20, with three days of qualifying and four days of racing competition where all entrants’ vehicles are powered solely by the sun.

The Solar Car Challenge ( is an education program designed to motivate students in science, engineering, and alternative energy. High school students are taught how to plan, design, engineer, build, race, and evaluate roadworthy solar cars.

Scrutineering of vehicles participating in the Solar Car Challenge will take place July 14-16, beginning each day at 8 a.m. Each day of the four-day competition, July 17-20, begins at 9 a.m. A media event will be held Friday, July 15 from 9:30-11 a.m. in the garage area at Texas Motor Speedway.

Car breakdowns, variations in weather, track conditions, and team experience limit the number of miles a team can drive each day during the four-day competition.  The team driving the most miles accumulated over the four days of the event will be declared the winner in each racing division.  

The Challenge has 261 high school solar car projects located in 39 states, Canada, Mexico, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, Bahamas, Spain, Uzbekistan, and Hong Kong. The Solar Car Challenge is hosted by Texas Instruments, Oncor, and Lockheed Martin.


(View all team profiles at

Classic Division 

Ballard Bombers          Ballard Memorial High School       Barlow, Kentucky

Blazin’ Bulldogs           Delta School                               Wilson, Arkansas

Dallas Solar Tigers       Harmony School of Science          Dallas, Texas

Holy Solars                  Kent School                                Kent, Connecticut

Pirate Ingenuity           Brazosport High School                Clute, Texas

Solar Crusaders           Keller Advanced Center                Keller, Texas

Solar Tigers                 Harmony School of Innovation      Fort Worth, Texas

Advanced Classic Division

Covenant Cougars        Covenant Christian School         Colleyville, Texas

Los Diableros               Presidio High School                 Presidio, Texas

Solar Falcons               Palmdale High School                Palmdale, California

Stony Point Solar         Stony Point High School             Round Rock, Texas

Winston Solar              Winston School                         Dallas, Texas

Wylie East                   Wylie East High School              Wylie, Texas

Advanced Division

Covenant Cougars          Covenant Christian School      Colleyville, Texas

RAHS Green Energy Team    Raisbeck Aviation High School   

Tukwila, Washington

Houston Solar Team        Houston High School             Houston, Mississippi

Iron Lions                      Greenville High School           Greenville, Texas

Oregon Solar                  Bend Area School                  Bend, Oregon

Plano Green Team           Plano Schools                        Plano, Texas

Staten Island Solar  Staten Island Tech High School  Staten Island, New York

Electric-Solar Powered Division

Heroes’ Alliance     Heroes’s Alliance              Detroit, Michigan 

Solar Falcons         Palmdale High School       Palmdale, California

Solar Jumpers       Somerset High School        Somerset, Kentucky

Cruiser Division

Solar Jumpers      Somerset High School         Somerset, Kentucky 

Texas Motor Speedway will play host to the 2022 NASCAR Playoffs on Sept. 24-25. The weekend will be highlighted by the NASCAR Xfinity Series Andy’s Frozen Custard 300 on Saturday, Sept. 24(2:30 p.m. CT on USA Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Ch. 90, PRN, and 95.9 The Ranch), and the NASCAR Cup Series Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 on Sunday, Sept. 25 (2:30 p.m. CT on USA Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Ch. 90, PRN, and 95.9 The Ranch).


For ticket information for the September 23-25 NASCAR Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 weekend, please visit


Keep track of all of Texas Motor Speedway’s busy schedule by following on FacebookTwitter and Instagram. Keep up with all the latest news and information on the speedway website and TMS mobile app.


David Hart | Vice President of Public Relations | Texas Motor Speedway

[email protected] | 817.215.8522 (o) | 817.532.8020 (m)