O’Reilly Auto Parts 500



The time has come. It’s once again time to go green at Texas Motor Speedway as the world-renowned motorsports facility gets ready to host a high-speed, edge-of-your-seat, high-flying tripleheader weekend of racing.

The Verizon IndyCar Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and Stadium SUPER Trucks will all be in action June 7-9, while the Outdoor Powersports Offroad Ruckus will also be held in the Texas Motor Speedway infield on June 8 and 9.

The reigning Texas Motor Speedway June IndyCar race winner Will Power, who won his first Indianapolis 500 this past Sunday, will be looking to become the first driver since Scott Sharp in 2000 and ’01 to win back-to-back races. But there are also plenty of drivers in the field that will be looking to win their first Foyt-Rutherford Trophy. Here’s a look at the top-five drivers that could end their night in Texas Motor Speedway’s Victory Lane for the first time on June 9 in the DXC Technology 600.

  1. Josef Newgarden – It’s hard to believe that the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series champion has never won at Texas Motor Speedway. A nine-time IndyCar race winner, Newgarden’s best finish at TMS is an eighth-place finish in his second career start back in 2013. While it’s his only top-10 finish here, Newgarden is overdue for a breakthrough in “America’s Original Nighttime IndyCar Race.”

  2. Simon Pagenaud – An 11-time IndyCar race winner, Pagenaud has been rock solid in six career starts at TMS. His third-place finish last June was a career-best, but he also has a pair of fourth-place finishes and a sixth. Pagenaud led 59 laps in 2015, so he’s familiar with what it takes to get to the front. Now, if he can stay there on June 9, he’ll give his sponsor – DXC Technology – an opportunity to celebrate a win in their very own race.

  3. Marco Andretti – Sure, he only has two career wins in the IndyCar Series. That leaves plenty of tracks in which Andretti can get a breakthrough victory. But why not Texas Motor Speedway? Statistically, it’s one of his better tracks and he’s coming off a sixth-place finish here in 2017. His six top-10s, including four top-fives, both rank fifth all-time and first among drivers that have yet to win a race here.

  4. James Hinchcliffe – The Mayor of Hinchtown handled missing Sunday’s Indianapolis 500 like the true professional that he is. But it’s safe to say that Hinchcliffe likely feels like he has a lot to prove over the next handful of races, and Texas Motor Speedway could be the perfect place to get back on track. No one has led more laps (196) here without a win. Hinchcliffe led 188 laps here before finishing second in 2016 and he had a strong car again last year before an accident on Lap 151 took him out of the race.

  5. Takuma Sato – With just two career IndyCar wins and only one top-five in nine starts at TMS, Sato is a true dark horse to win the DXC Technology 600. But Sato has the mettle to take chances at Texas. And his instincts and guts to go for it nearly led to a win last June. If he’s in the mix down the stretch, don’t take your eyes off of No. 30.


About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.