O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


FORT WORTH, Texas (April 7, 2017) – Sam Hafertepe Jr. continued his winning ways at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track with third victory at the .4-mile speedway during the Tony Stewart’s Texas Sprint Car Nationals Presented by Machinery Auctioneers. 

Hafertepe Jr. started in 13th and quickly moved up through the field and overtook the early race leader Wayne Johnson with a pass on the inside of Turn 4. He then took command of the race and went on to win by almost five seconds over Johnson. 

“I feel like we are getting comfortable down here,” Hafertepe Jr. said. “I want to thank all the fans for sticking with us with the track conditions we had. I tried to make it an exciting race there. I feel like we did that starting from 13th.”  

The win was the Sunnyvale, Texas native’s first this year on the ASCS Red River Region and his third win at the Texas Motor Speedway dirt track after earning his previous ones in the fall of 2014 and spring of 2016. 

He now ties ASCS’s Jason Johnson as the all-time wins leader at the TMS Dirt Track with three career wins. Johnson earned his wins in 2003, ”˜12 and ”˜13. 

Former NASCAR Cup champion, and host of the event, Tony Stewart, started 16th and finished 10th, while former World of Outlaw champions Danny Lasoski and Sammy Swindell finished eighth and 21st respectively. 

The race was red-flagged on Lap 6 when Blake Hahn made contact with Skylar Gee, sending Hahn’s car flipping into the catchfence. He was, however, able to quickly climb out of his car following the incident. 

In the Limited Modified A-Main, Derick Grigsby from Marshall, Texas took the lead in Turn 2 of the first lap from pole sitter RJ Stroman (New Boston, Texas) and never looked back. He increased his lead steadily during the course of the race and eventually won by six car lengths over Stroman. 

Kale Westover (Blair, Okla.) finished third as the top three remained the same throughout the race. Former NASCAR driver and current FOX Sports 1 analyst Kenny Wallace went out in Lap 6 and finished 20th. 

The Tony Stewart’s Texas Sprint Car Nationals Presented By Machinery Auctioneers continues Saturday at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. The gates open at 6 p.m. with racing starting at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are available at texasmotorspeedway.com or by calling 817.215.8500.

Limited Modified A-Main

  1. Derick Grigsby
  2. RJ Stroman
  3. Kale Westover
  4. Nick Clinkenbeard
  5. Dennie Gieber
  6. Tim Clonch
  7. Travis Johnson
  8. Curtis Allen
  9. Brandon Kenny
  10. Shane Hoefling
  11.  Justin Nabors
  12.  Jeff Rowland
  13.  Kevin Simpson
  14.  Kevin Roland
  15.  JJ Jennings
  16.  David Phillips
  17.  James McCreery
  18.  Trevor Foley
  19.  Steve Nabors
  20.  Kenny Wallace
  21.  Greg Frazier
  22.  Brandon Ball
  23.  George Egbert III
  24.  Clint Dosser 

ASCS Sprint Car A-Main

  1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr.
  2. Wayne Johnson
  3. Aaron Reutzel
  4. Danny Johnson
  5. Dustin morgan
  6. Tommy Bryant
  7. Matt Covington
  8. Danny Lasoski
  9. Josh Baughman
  10.  Tony Stewart
  11.  Travis Rilat
  12.  John Carney II
  13.  Johnny Herrera
  14.  Skylar Gee
  15.  Seth Bregman
  16.  James Mosher
  17.  Brad Queen
  18.  Alex Hill
  19.  Jake Grieder
  20.  Blake Hahn
  21.  Sammy Swindell
  22.  Chance Morton

About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.