O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


FORT WORTH, Texas (November 4, 2016) - Dakoda Armstrong led a group of four non-Chasers atop the speed chart during the final NASCAR XFINITY Series practice for the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway.

Armstrong’s first of 38 laps around TMS’ high-banked/1.5-mile quadoval of 29.309-seconds/184.244 mph edged-out Kyle Larson for P1. Larson, who topped the day’s opening practice sheet at 185.599 mph, hot-lapped at 183.748 mph in his No. 42 ENEOS Chevrolet Camaro during a session that began at 4 p.m. CT.

Brandon Jones placed third at 183.349 mph in the No. 33 South Point Chevrolet, followed by Matt Tifft at 182.945 mph in the No. 18 NOS Energy Drink Toyota.

Chaser Daniel Suarez ranked fifth at 182.611 mph in the No. 19 ARRIS Toyota Camry. Among the other Chasers, Brendan Gaughan was ninth in the No. 62 South Point Chevy at 181.904 mph; Justin Allgaier was 12th at 181.671 mph in the No. 7 Dirty Mo Radio/Axalta Camaro; Ryan Reed was 13th at 181.568 mph in the No. 16 Lilly Diabetes/American Diabetes Association Ford Mustang; Erik Jones was 14th at 181.403 mph in the No. 20 GameStop/Call of Duty Toyota; Elliott Sadler was 16th at 180.789 mph in the No. 1 OneMain Chevy; Blake Koch was 17th in the No. 11 LeafFilter Gutter Protection Camaro at 180.723 mph and Darrell Wallace Jr. was 18th at 179.976 mph in the No. 6 Leidos Ford.

The series returns to action here after a two-week break. Sadler, Suarez, Koch and Allgaier currently have accumulated enough points to be in the top four in the Chase standings and are in position to move on. Jones, Reed, Gaughan and Wallace Jr. currently are in Chase positions five through eight and - unless they win at TMS or Phoenix International Raceway in the next two weeks or move into the top four in the Chase standings - they will be eliminated from the XFINITY Chase.

A win is the only thing that will guarantee one of the eight remaining Chasers a spot in the Championship 4. Of those drivers, Jones (2015) is the only Chaser to have won at Texas Motor Speedway. Of the eight contenders, Jones also scored the highest finish at TMS in April, when he crossed the line second in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 won by Kyle Busch.

Here are the Round of 8 drivers’ career average finishes at TMS: Jones (2.3), Sadler (12.1), Allgaier (12.5), Suarez (13.3), Wallace Jr. (13.3), Reed (16.2), Gaughan (19.4) and Koch (31.5).

XFINITY Series qualifying is scheduled for 10:45 a.m. CT Saturday. The race is booked for Saturday at 2 p.m. on NBC, PRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.