O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


Johnny Sauter, a two-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series winner at Texas Motor Speedway, qualified on-pole for Friday night’s 20th annual Rattlesnake 400.

Sauter bagged his third pole around TMS’ high-banked, 1.5-mile quadoval with a hot lap in 29.996-seconds at 180.024 mph. Sauter, driver of the No. 21 Smokey Mountain Herbal Snuff Chevrolet Silverado, was the only driver in a field of 34 to crack the 180 mph barrier.

Sauter, who is in his first season of driving for team-owner Maurice Gallagher Jr., previously won poles at TMS in 2009 and 2013. Sauter swept the two Truck Series races in Fort Worth in 2012.

Meanwhile, German Quiroga marked his return to the series after a 19-month hiatus by qualifying second at 179.892 mph in the No. 11 Red Horse Racing Toyota Tundra. Daniel Hemric will start third after qualifying the No. 19 DrawTite Ford F-150 at 179.868 mph.

Matt Crafton, winner of the last two series races and consecutive June races at TMS, will start fourth in the No. 88 Menards/Ideal Door Toyota fielded by ThorSport Racing. Tyler Reddick rounded out the top-five after lapping at 179.700 mph in the No. 29 Cooper Standard Ford fielded by Brad Keselowski Racing.

Six races into the season, two-time champion Crafton leads the championship on the strength of two wins, three top-fives and five top-10s. He is trailed by Timothy Peters (-12 points), Hemric (-17), Spencer Gallagher (-22) and William Byron (-26). Ryan Truex (-32), John Hunter Nemechek (-34), Reddick (-36), Christopher Bell (-37) and Sauter (-41) round out the top-10.

The 167-lap/250.5-mile race is scheduled for 8 p.m. (CDT) and will be televised on Fox Sports 1.


About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.