O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


FORT WORTH, Texas (July 5, 2016) – The Street Outlaw Division remains the most competitive class of Friday Night Drags presented by Maaco and despite the strong field of competitors it was Burleson’s Trent Savage who walked away with the division crown for Week 2 of the summer series. 

Savage, driving his 2001 Pontiac Trans Am, earned his second consecutive victory defeating Brock Anders in the final. Savage is the only driver to win in the first two weeks of the competition. 

Other winners last week included Aledo’s Chase Prollock in The Speedway Club Tuner Division driving a 2005 Acura RSX; Longview’s Brock Gilliam in the Reunion Tower Geo-Deck Street Bandit Division driving a 1957 Volkswagen Beetle; Waxahachie’s Dennis Kirkland in the Sportsman Division driving a 2005 Pontiac GTO; Lucas’ Chris Brown in the Snap-On Tools All-Wheel Division driving a 2013 Nissan GT-R; Denton’s Brent Harper in the American Steel Carports Supercar Division driving a 2013 Cadillac CTS-V; and Alvarado’s Jeremy Clark in the 4 Wheel Parts Black Smoke Warrior Division driving a 1989 Chevrolet Silverado. 

Winners from Hills Air Support Show-N-Shine include Euless’ Larry Buell (1939 Ford Sedan Deluxe) for Best in Show; Keller’s Tom Buerk (1959 Chevrolet Bel Air) for Best Classic; Azle’s Tony Edwards (1980 Chevrolet K10); and Rhome’s Robert Blickensderfer (Honda Fury) for Best Motorcycle. 

The six-week summer series that converts Texas Motor Speedway’s pit road into a 1/8-mile drag strip continues Friday for Week 3. The gates open each week at 6 p.m. with inspection, practice and Hills Air Support Show-N-Shine beginning at 6:15 p.m. Drag racing competition gets underway at 9:15 p.m. 

The cost is $20 to participate in the drag racing or Hills Air Support Show-N-Shine competition each week. For spectators, general admission grandstand tickets are $10 for adults and $5 for children 12 and under and available at the Gate 6 ticket booth or online at www.texasmotorspeedway.com. Parking is free in the PSL lot outside Gate 6 and available for $20 in the infield (with admission included in pricing). Coolers are permitted in both the grandstands and infield. 

For more information and official rules of Friday Night Drags presented by Maaco, please visit www.texasmotorspeedway.com

Week 1 Winners

Street Outlaw Division: Trent Savage - Burleson, Texas

American Steel Carports Supercar Division: Adam Gerety - Trophy Club, Texas

The Speedway Club Tuner Division: Geram Rose - Little Elm, Texas

Reunion Tower Geo-Deck Street Bandit Division: Colin Hundley - Flower Mound, Texas

Sportsman Division: Chris Thompson - Richland Hills, Texas

Snap-On Tools All-Wheel Division: Connor Spencer - Fairview, Texas

4 Wheel Parts Black Smoke Warrior Division: Shawnee Haggard - Watauga, Texas

Week 2 Winners

Street Outlaw Division: Trent Savage - Burleson, Texas

American Steel Carports Supercar Division: Brent Harper - Denton, Texas

The Speedway Club Tuner Division: Chase Prollock - Aledo, Texas

Reunion Tower Geo-Deck Street Bandit Division: Brock Gilliam - Longview, Texas

Sportsman Division: Dennis Kirkland - Waxahachie, Texas

Snap-On Tools All-Wheel Division: Chris Brown - Lucas, Texas

4 Wheel Parts Black Smoke Warrior Division: Jeremy Clark - Alvarado, Texas

About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.