O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


  • 21st Consecutive Running Of “America’s Original Nighttime IndyCar Race” At Texas Motor Speedway Set For Saturday, June 10

INDIANAPOLIS (August 25, 2016) – INDYCAR announced the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule today, a 17-race season that provides continuity and confirms multi-year agreements for new events at Gateway Motorsports Park and Watkins Glen International. The series calendar features the return of all venues on the 2016 schedule and consists of a total of six events on ovals including the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway in June, six on permanent road courses and five on temporary street circuits. 

INDYCAR experienced a 38-percent growth in both television ratings and viewership from 2013 to 2015 and the same numbers are up this season by a total of 7 percent compared to this time last year. Attendance at INDYCAR events is also on the rise, with six events this season drawing crowds at or near record highs. 

“The release of the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule continues to build upon the success INDYCAR has experienced the last three years and establishes continuity and consistency in our event calendar,” said Mark Miles, CEO of Hulman & Co., the parent of INDYCAR and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. “As a series we are working diligently to create long-term relationships with our promoters to establish date equity and to provide them with the opportunity to initiate ticket renewals and event promotions earlier, which is pivotal to continuing the increase in attendance at our events.” 

For the sixth consecutive season, the INDYCAR schedule will open on the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla. (March 12) in 2017 and conclude at Sonoma Raceway (Sept. 17) – the third straight year the Verizon IndyCar Series championship will be crowned on the scenic 12-turn, 2.385-mile road course in California. 

The Verizon IndyCar Series will make its only stop in the state of Texas on Saturday, June 10, for the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway. It will mark the 21st consecutive year that Texas Motor Speedway has played host to “America’s Original Nighttime IndyCar Race.” 

All events on the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule will be broadcast by longstanding television partners ABC and NBCSN. The final TV schedule will be released later this year. 

The addition of Gateway Motorsports Park (Aug. 26) marks a return for the Verizon IndyCar Series, which last competed at the venue outside St. Louis in 2003. The track has hosted seven Indy car races, in CART from 1997-2000 and the Verizon IndyCar Series from 2001-03. Current Verizon IndyCar Series driver Helio Castroneves won the event in 2003 and his Team Penske teammate Juan Pablo Montoya won in 2000. Two other current drivers – Chip Ganassi Racing teammates Tony Kanaan and Scott Dixon – have also competed at the 1.25-mile oval. 

“Today is a monumental day for the people of the St. Louis region,” said Curtis Francois, owner of Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Ill. “I am proud of the progress we’ve made at my hometown track. I knew someday we would be making an announcement like this because I have such confidence in the people of this region and their commitment to great sporting events. More than a dozen track operators around the country sought this INDYCAR race for their communities. I firmly believe we came out on top because of the energy, loyalty and commitment to great sports that sports fans of all kinds demonstrate each day in this community.” 

Watkins Glen International, a replacement venue for the canceled Boston race this year, will host the INDYCAR Grand Prix at the Glen this season on Sept. 4. The permanent road course, steeped in open-wheel racing history, will return on Labor Day weekend again in 2017 under a new multi-year agreement with INDYCAR. 

“The addition of Gateway Motorsports Park and the return of Watkins Glen International are integral to the continued growth of INDYCAR,” Miles said. “Gateway officials have been enthusiastic about the prospect of hosting a Verizon IndyCar Series event for some time and we’re excited to bring the series to the St. Louis market. Watkins Glen is an iconic American road course that is revered by our fans, drivers and teams. Our goal from the beginning was to establish a long-term agreement and we’re thrilled that we’ve been able to extend this relationship for the future.” 

In addition to coverage from ABC and NBCSN, all Verizon IndyCar Series races can be heard on the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network, available through network affiliates, SiriusXM Satellite Radio, the INDYCAR Mobile app and IndyCar.com. 

2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Schedule:

March 12    Streets of St. Petersburg                                                        

April 9         Streets of Long Beach                                        

April 23       Barber Motorsports Park

April 29       Phoenix International Raceway                       

May 13        Grand Prix of Indianapolis                                

May 28        Indianapolis 500                                                

June 3          Raceway at Belle Isle Park                                

June 4          Raceway at Belle Isle Park                                

June 10       Texas Motor Speedway                                   

June 25       Road America                                                     

July 9           Iowa Speedway                                                  

July 16         Streets of Toronto                                              

July 30         Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course                             

Aug. 20        Pocono Raceway

Aug. 26        Gateway Motorsports Park                               

Sept. 3         Watkins Glen International                               

Sept. 17       Sonoma Raceway                                   

 *Schedule subject to change.

About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.