O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


FORT WORTH, Texas (September 12, 2015) – Seth Bergman became just the fourth driver in Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track history with multiple sprint car wins when he captured the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series A Feature during Saturday evening’s Portacool U.S. National Dirt Track Championship before an estimated crowd of 10,500.

>Bergman, of Snohomish, Wash., joined the star-studded group of the World of Outlaws duo of Danny Lasoski and Steve Kinser and the ASCS’ Jason Johnson as the only drivers with two career sprint car wins at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. Bergman’s have come back to back as he won the second of two A Features during last year’s Portacool U.S. National Dirt Track Championship.

Bergman, who started on the outside front row, staved off challenges by Johnny Herrera, of Albuquerque, New Mexico, and John Carney, of Lubbock, Texas, in the first half of the 40-lap event before taking control. The last opportunity for the field to overtake Bergman came with a restart with four laps remaining, but he maintained his lead and cruised to a 3.151-second win over runner-up Carney. Josh Baughman, of Odessa, Texas, was third.

“It’s definitely cool to come to this type of stage and to be one of only four guys to win two (sprint car) races here is neat. It’s worth all the hard work,” Bergman said. “…It gets sweeter and sweeter each time you do it. If I was to come back here next year and make it three, it would feel that much better.”

Bergman was one of three drivers capturing titles at the Portacool U.S. National Dirt Track Championship as John Whittington won the Limited Modified division and Taylor Carver the Factory Stock class. 

Whittington, of Vidor, Texas, was dominant from the pole as he led all 40 laps of the A Feature en route to a 1.537-second victory over runner-up J.C. Howell, of Mahank, Texas. Chris Dawson, of Lubbock, Texas, finished third. The win was Whittington’s third of his career at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, adding to the pair he won in 2013.

Carver, of Lockesburg, Ark., made a second-half surge in the 30-lap A Feature after starting eighth to capture the Factory Stock division crown. Jimmy Day, of Greenville, Texas, was strong from the outset before Carver, driving an unconventional Malibu station wagon, overtook him midway through the race and rolled to a 3.309-second victory over runner-up Justin Whitehead, of Hooks, Texas. Day finished third.

About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.