O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


FORT WORTH, Texas (April 9, 2015) – NASCAR team owner Rick Hendrick joined the illustrious list of names inducted into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame on Thursday evening. Hendrick became the 17th member enshrined into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame during its annual ceremony benefitting Speedway Children’s Charities. 

Hendrick’s success at Texas Motor Speedway proved to be the deciding factor to his induction. His six wins in the Sprint Cup Series are second among team owners, his most recent coming at last November’s AAA Texas 500, where Jimmie Johnson won for the third consecutive time. His first win may have proven to be the most memorable, as Hendrick Motorsports driver Terry Labonte of Corpus Christi, Texas earned his only victory at his home track in 1999. 

“I’m honored to be inducted into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame,” Hendrick said. “It’s pretty special. I love this track. We have always run well on 1.5-mile tracks and like I always say, ‘We like to take Bruton’s money.’ I think it takes a lot of engine and chassis here. This has been a track where we have done really well and I wish we could run more than two races a year here.” 

Hendrick’s induction was the pinnacle of an evening that honored individuals that made an impact on motorsports and in the community. NASCAR Hall of Famer and three-time Cup champion Darrell Waltrip was the recipient of the Bruton Smith Legend Award for his lasting impact on the motorsports community. Waltrip was joined by fellow Cup champion Jeff Gordon, who received the Texas Motor Speedway Sportsmanship Award for his role in helping the growth of NASCAR and his efforts to fight pediatric cancer. 

Gordon’s replacement following his final season in 2015, Chase Elliott, received the Texas Motor Speedway Racer of the Year award for his monumental victory in last year’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 300. Elliott earned his first career NASCAR XFINITY Series victory during last year’s event, becoming the youngest winner in the speedway’s history at the age of 18 years, 4 months and 7 days. His victory proved to be the start of a meteoric rise for Elliott who would go on to win the XFINITY Series championship in just his rookie season. 

“Texas will always be a special place for me to get a first,” Elliott said. “To have a first here is always special and I’m excited to get back.” 

Racers were not the only ones showered with accolades. Texas Motor Speedway’s April race sponsor Duck Commander was honored for its generous donations to Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas Chapter. The company has made key contributions to SCC that included unique hunting experience with TV personality John Godwin, along with signed memorabilia for the organization’s live auctions. Duck Commander’s donations allowed the charity to raise more than $55,000 to benefit children in North Texas last year.



About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.