O’Reilly Auto Parts 500


Duck Commander 500 Notebook

Duck Commander 500 champion Jimmie Johnson became the 10th different driver in the last decade to win the annual spring NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. The streak dates to Kasey Kahne’s 2006 wire-to-wire victory in the then-Samsung/RadioShack 500. In the 19-year history of Texas Motor Speedway, no driver has ever won back-to-back April Sprint Cup races and Jeff Burton (1997, ’07) Greg Biffle (2005, ’12) and Matt Kenseth (2002, ’11) are the only multiple winners of that event. … Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano and Martin Truex Jr. all extended their season-long, top-10 finishing streaks through Saturday night’s Duck Commander 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. Harvick finished second, Logano fourth and Truex Jr. ninth as the trio now has posted top-10 finishes through the first seven races of the season.  … Six of the top-10 finishers in the Duck Commander 500 were former Sprint Cup Series winners at Texas Motor Speedway. The former winners consisted of Johnson (1st), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (3rd), Joey Logano (4th), Jeff Gordon (7th), Kahne (8th) and Carl Edwards (10th), which have combined for 12 Sprint Cup wins. Two of the other four Duck Commander 500 top-10 finishers – Harvick (2nd) and Brad Keselowski (5th) – have visited Texas Motor Speedway’s Victory Lane in NASCAR’s other national series. Harvick has won in the XFINITY and Camping World Truck Series and Brad Keselowski in the XFINITY Series. … Duck Commander 500 polesitter Kurt Busch was the 10th different driver to win the pole in the last 10 Sprint Cup races at Texas Motor Speedway, dating to the 2010 AAA Texas 500 pole won by Elliott Sadler. …  Johnson became the first Sprint Cup Series driver in Texas Motor Speedway history to reach the 1,000 laps led plateau. Johnson led a race-high 128 laps in the Duck Commander 500 to push his career total to 1,017 laps led in 24 career starts. Matt Kenseth ranks second with 834 laps led. … Harvick led nine times for 96 laps in the Duck Commander 500, which crushed his previous career laps led career total at Texas Motor Speedway. He had led a total of eight laps in his first 24 starts and never more than two in any race until the Duck Commander 500. … The six laps led by Kahne in the Duck Commander 500 were the most he has led at Texas Motor Speedway since leading 63 en route to his lone victory here in the spring of 2006.  … Kenseth, who was 23rd in November’s AAA Texas 500, finished 23rd in the Duck Commander 500, marking the first time he has finished outside the top 10 in consecutive races at Texas Motor Speedway since the fall of 2004 and spring of ’05.  … Johnson, with his win in the Duck Commander 500, breaks a tie with Kenseth for most career top-10 finishes at Texas Motor Speedway with 18. Kenseth remains the career leader in top-five finishes with 13, but Johnson has closed to one with 12.

 O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 Notebook

Joe Gibbs Racing driver Erik Jones joined an exclusive Texas Motor Speedway club with his NASCAR XFNITY Series win in Friday night’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 300. He became just the fourth driver in speedway history to win his first XFINITY Series start at the track. The others include Mark Martin in the first-ever XFINITY Series race at the speedway in 1997, Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 1998 and Chase Elliott in 2014. ... XFINITY Series rookie Darrell “Bubba” Wallace Jr. of Roush Fenway Racing recorded the best finish of the season with a sixth-place performance in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300. That was one position better than his previous best of seventh recorded at Las Vegas earlier this year. ... Texas natives Chris Buescher and Brennan Poole finished ninth and 13th, respectively, in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300. Buescher, of Prosper, finished ninth for his fourth top-10 effort of the season. He had double duty over the weekend as he also competed in the Duck Commander 500, where he finished 30th. Poole, from The Woodlands suburb of Houston, was making his debut at Texas Motor Speedway and finished 13th. It was his second best finish of the season. ... Youth was served once again in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 as seven of the top 15 finishers were 23 years old or younger. Led by the 18 year-old winner Erik Jones, the average age of these drivers was just over 21. ... Brad Keselowski finished runner-up in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 to post his third consecutive top-two finish in a XFINITY Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. He won in his previous start that came in the fall of 2013 and was second in the spring of that year. He has finished outside the top five just once in his last 10 XFINITY Series races at TMS. ... There were a number of other NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers who extended their history of performing well in the XFINITY Series at Texas. Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished third and now has finished in the top five in each of his last three XFINITY Series races at Texas Motor Speedway. Austin Dillon was fifth in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 and now has finished among the top 10 in each of his six starts in the series at Texas Motor Speedway. Denny Hamlin, who was seventh, now has finished among the top10 in eight of the last nine XFINITY Series races he has appeared in at TMS.

About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Mailing List

Race Weekend Schedule

Event Calendar

The official race weekend schedule maintained and updated by Texas Motor Speedway.

Driving Directions

Google Maps

Texas Motor Speedway
3545 Lone Star Cir

Fort Worth, TX 76177

Facility Map

Facility Map

Refer to our facility map to help you get around Texas Motor Speedway.

2020 Season Tickets

Three Big Weekends.  One Low Price.

Save at least 30% on individual ticket prices.