Skip to main content

2020 NASCAR Cup Series Playoff Field Set

2020 NASCAR Cup Series Playoff Field Set

FORT WORTH, Texas (August 31, 2020)


The NASCAR Cup Series regular season concluded Aug. 29 in spectacular overtime fashion, setting the 16-team, 10-race playoff schedule that includes the Oct. 25 Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.


The Texas 500 (2:30 p.m. CT on NBCSN, PRN) is the eighth race of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series playoffs and the second of three races in the Round of 8. The race will be open to spectators as Texas Motor Speedway continues its extensive COVID-19 pandemic protocols.


Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin were the class of the field during the regular season and both have earned three victories at No Limits, Texas. Harvick, the 2014 series champion and 2020 regular season champion, will be aiming for his fourth straight fall TMS win. His seven regular-season victories in the No. 4 Stewart-Haas Ford is just one more than the six Hamlin, searching for his first season title, earned in the No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota.


The Texas 500 will be the final act in Jimmie Johnson’s record-setting full-time career in the No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet at No Limits, Texas. The seven-time Cup Series champion and seven-time winner at TMS just missed making the playoffs after getting caught up in an 11-car wreck with just two laps to go in regulation Aug. 29 at Daytona International Speedway. He finished 17th while teammate William Byron earned his first victory and a spot in the playoffs.


The chart below shows the full playoff field and their NASCAR Cup Series history at Texas Motor Speedway:


2020 NASCAR Cup Series Playoff Contenders at Texas Motor Speedway




Playoff Points


Best Start

Best Finish

Kevin Harvick

No. 4 Stewart-Haas Ford



1st – Spring 2017, Fall 2019

1st – Fall 2017, Fall 2018, Fall 2019

Denny Hamlin

No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota



2nd – Fall 2017

1st – Spring 2010, Fall 2010, Spring 2019

Brad Keselowski

No. 2 Team Penske Ford



1st – Fall 2015

2nd – Fall 2012, Fall 2015

Joey Logano

No. 22 Team Penske Ford



1st – Spring 2016, Fall 2016

1st – Spring 2014

Chase Elliott

No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet



3rd – Spring 2019

4th – Fall 2016

Martin Truex Jr.

No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota



1st – Fall 2007, Spring 2012

2nd – Spring 2013, Fall 2017

Ryan Blaney

No. 12 Team Penske Ford



1st – Fall 2018

2nd – Fall 2018

Alex Bowman

No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet



5th – Fall 2019

5th – Fall 2019

William Byron

No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet



2nd – Spring 2019

6th – Spring 2019

Austin Dillon

No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet



1st – Fall 2016

1st – Summer 2020

Cole Custer

No. 41 Stewart-Haas Ford



19th - Summer 2020

39th – Summer 2020

Aric Almirola

No. 10 Stewart-Haas Ford



3rd – Spring 2013

2nd – Fall 2019

Clint Bowyer

No. 14 Stewart-Haas Ford



2nd – Fall 2018

2nd – Spring 2011, Spring 2019

Kyle Busch

No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota



1st – Spring 2013

1st – Spring 2013, Spring 2016, Spring 2018

Kurt Busch

No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet



1st – Spring 2015, Fall 2017, Spring 2018, Summer 2020

1st – Fall 2009

Matt DiBenedetto

No. 21 Wood Brothers Ford



10th – Fall 2019

14th – Fall 2019


2020 NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs Schedule

Round of 16

Sept. 6                        Darlington Raceway                                       Darlington, S.C.

Sept. 12                      Richmond Raceway                                       Richmond, Va.

Sept. 19                      Bristol Motor Speedway                                 Bristol, Tenn.


Round of 12

Sept. 27                      Las Vegas Motor Speedway                          Las Vegas, Nev

Oct. 4                          Talladega Superspeedway                             Talladega, Ala.

Oct. 11                        Charlotte Motor Speedway                             Concord, N.C.


Round of 8

Oct. 18                        Kansas Speedway                                          Kansas City, Kan.

Oct. 25                        Texas Motor Speedway                                Fort Worth, Texas

Nov. 1                         Martinsville Speedway                                    Martinsville, Va.



Nov. 8                         Phoenix Raceway                                           Avondale, Ariz.


The Oct. 25 Texas Motor Speedway doubleheader Sunday begins at 11 a.m. CT with the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series 400 (FS1 and the Performance Racing Network). The Oct. 24 NASCAR Xfinity Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 (3:30 p.m. CT on NBCSN and PRN) will be a non-spectator event.


Tickets for the Oct. 25 Texas 500/ 400 doubleheader races are available starting at $48 at One ticket will be good for both races and kids 12 and under are just $10. Further details can be found on the Texas Motor Speedway website.


Click for a comprehensive list of answers to frequently asked questions about the Texas 500.


Keep track of all of Texas Motor Speedway’s events by following on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Keep up with all the latest news and information on the speedway website and TMS mobile app.

About the author

Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

Join Our Mailing List

For vaccination details and scheduling, please contact the Denton County Public Health offices at 940-349-2585 or visit the homepage of their website at Please do not call or email Texas Motor Speedway. The speedway cannot take reservations and are only able to refer you to the Denton County Public Health Department. Thank you.

Gear up for an exciting season at No Limits, Texas

2021 Season Tickets

Lock in your season tickets for the 2021 season now for best seats and best benefits!

Back to top