AAA Texas 500


FORT WORTH, Texas (June 5, 2015) – Juan Pablo Montoya, the reigning Indy 500 champion and current points leader, and Graham Rahal recorded the fastest lap in Friday’s final Verizon IndyCar Series practice session at Texas Motor Speedway.

>Montoya (No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet) and Rahal (No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda) each posted a top lap of 215.002 miles per hour in the final 30-minute session. Rookie Gabby Chaves (No. 98 Bowers & Wilkins/Curb Honda) was third at 214.796 mph, Tony Kanaan (No. 10 NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet) fourth at 214.750 mph and Ryan Hunter-Reay (No. 28 DHL Honda) fifth at 214.739 mph.

Polesitter Will Power of Team Penske will lead the 23-car field to the green flag for Saturday night’s Firestone 600 Verizon IndyCar Series race, beginning at 7:30 p.m. CT (TV: NBC Sports Network, Radio: INDYCAR Radio, Sirius XM Radio, IMS Radio Network and KRLD-FM 105.3 The Fan locally).

Tickets are available by visiting or by calling the speedway ticket office at 817.215.8500.

About the author

The Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department is located on the 6th floor of The Speedway Club outside of Turn 1 of the speedway. 

comments powered by Disqus

NASCAR Playoff Pack

3 Playoff Races for 1 Low Price when NASCAR Returns to No Limits, Texas November 2-4. Lock in Your NASCAR Playoff Pack for Less Than $20 Today!