Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

Pit Bull

Week of May 20, 2013

by TMS Admin | May 21, 2013

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2014 will be announced at 5 p.m. CT today following a vote by the 54-member voting panel. Five inductees will be selected from the 25 nominees that include Speedway Motorsports, Inc. Chairman Bruton Smith, NASCAR car owners Rick Hendrick and Richard Childress, and drivers Fireball Roberts, Fred Lorenzen, Dale Jarrett, Bobby Isaac, Red Byron and Benny Parsons. … Five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson captured his fourth Sprint All-Star Race crown on Saturday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway. It was his second in a row and record fourth overall, breaking a tie with the late Dale Earnhardt and Dale Earnhardt. One would assume he would be the heavy favorite for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte, but he has not won that race since 2005. His last points win at the facility came in the fall event in 2009. … Ed Carpenter became the first American driver to win the Indy 500 pole since Sam Hornish Jr. in 2006 and the first owner/driver to win the top qualifying position since A.J. Foyt in 1975. … IZOD IndyCar Series rookie Carlos Munoz, who will be starting second in Sunday’s Indy 500, is the youngest driver to qualify on the front row in Indianapolis 500 history at 21 years, 136 days old. The Andretti Autosport driver eclipsed the mark set by Rex Mays, who was 22 years, 81 days old when he won the pole in 1935. Munoz also became the first rookie to qualify on the front row since fellow Colombian Juan Pablo Montoya also qualified second in 2000. Montoya, then competing with Target Chip Ganassi Racing in the rival CART series, won the race that year. … Michael Annett, who sustained a broken sternum from an accident in the season-opening NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Daytona International Speedway, will return to action this weekend for Richard Petty Motorsports. Annett will be driving the No. 43 Pilot Flying J Ford in Saturday’s History 300 NNS race at Charlotte after missing three months and eight races due to the injury.



Upcoming Race Fan Events

Aug 16 Sat
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun