Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

Pit Bull

Week of March 11, 2013

by TMS Admin | Mar 12, 2013

Denny Hamlin was fined last Thursday following remarks he made while comparing the Gen-6 car to the previous Gen-5 “Car of Tomorrow” model. The comments came during a moment of frustration after the race in Phoenix when he stated that the Gen-6 car isn’t any better than what NASCAR had before with the Gen-5. NASCAR responded by issuing Hamlin a $25,000 fine for his “disparaging remarks” citing Section 12-1 of the NASCAR rulebook that includes all actions detrimental to stock car racing. Visually upset, Hamlin responded in front of the media by saying he will never answer any questions regarding competition again and as far as he is concerned, he isn’t going to pay the fine and that NASCAR could suspend him if they like. Hamlin plans to appeal the fine and Joe Gibbs Racing said in a statement Friday that they will fully support him during his appeal process. This is not the first time Hamlin has been fined for his outspoken opinions. In 2010, Hamlin was fined $50,000 for comments on “phantom debris” cautions following a Nationwide Series race at Chicagoland Speedway.

AJ Allmendinger is getting a second chance with Roger Penske after he was released from Penske’s Sprint Cup organization following his substance abuse violation last season. Team Penske announced that Allmendinger will compete in at least two IZOD IndyCar Series events this season. On the schedule for Allmendinger is the April 7 race at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Ala., and the prestigious Indy 500 on May 26. Reinstated by NASCAR in late September after completing the Road to Recovery Program, Allmendinger competed in four late-season races for Phoenix Racing. His performance earned him a shot to share the No. 51 Sprint Cup car with Regan Smith in 2013. Allmendinger finished 11th in Phoenix, his only race of the season thus far.

Comment

  1.    
     
     
      
       

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Aug 16 Sat
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun