Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Rookie Bowman Wins O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge Pole, Completes Historic NNS Season Sweep

by TMS Media Relations | Nov 02, 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas (November 2, 2013) – Rookie Alex Bowman became the first driver in Texas Motor Speedway history to complete a season sweep of the NASCAR Nationwide Series poles Saturday when he captured the top spot for the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge during the Pinnacle Propane Qualifying Days.

Bowman (No. 99 Microsoft Windows Toyota), who won his first career NNS pole during April’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas, added his second of the season with a lap of 186.194 miles per hour. Bowman, a 20-year-old from Tucson, Ariz., has taken an immediate liking to the fast, 1.5-mile oval as his only front-row starts much less poles through 31 Nationwide Series starts this season have come at Texas Motor Speedway.

Bowman also became the sixth driver in speedway history to own multiple Nationwide Series poles and is one shy of the record held by Kyle Busch, who has three in 16 career starts.

Reigning NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Brad Keselowski (No. 22 Discount Tire Ford), who went out 39th out of the 41 entries, took a run at Bowman’s lap, but fell shy by .033 of a second with a lap of 185.982 mph that placed him on the front row.

Sam Hornish Jr. (No. 12 Wurth Ford) qualified third at 185.682 mph, Trevor Bayne (No. 6 Ford EcoBoost Ford) fourth at 184.919 mph and series championship leader Austin Dillon (No. 3 AdvoCare Chevrolet) fifth at 184.685 mph.

Other notable Sprint Cup Series drivers in the field were Busch (6th), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (7th), Matt Kenseth (13th) and Denny Hamlin (18th).

The Nationwide Series returns to the track at 2:30 p.m. CT today to compete in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge, a 300-mile, 220-lap race.

Tickets for the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge are available by calling the speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500 or by visiting www.texasmotorspeedway.com

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders