Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Truex Jr. Posts Fastest Lap In Opening Sprint Cup Practice For AAA Texas 500

by TMS Media Relations | Nov 01, 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas (November 1, 2013) – Michael Waltrip Racing driver Martin Truex Jr. posted the fastest lap of Friday’s opening NASCAR Sprint Cup Series practice for the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Truex (No. 56 NAPA Auto Parts Toyota) ran a lap of 195.298 miles per hour among the nine laps he ran to lead the 90-minute session. Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet), tied for the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup lead with Matt Kenseth, was second at 194.791 mph and Carl Edwards (No. 99 Aflac Ford) was third at 193.840 mph.

Kenseth (No. 20 Home Depot Let’s Do This Toyota) was ninth at 193.057 mph.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series returns to the track at 3:40 p.m. CT for pole qualifying in the Pinnacle Propane Qualifying Days.

Tickets for Sunday’s AAA Texas 500, the eighth race in the 10-event Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, are available by visiting www.texasmotorspeedway.com or by calling the speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500.

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun