Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Texas Motor Speedway Receives Award At National Security Conference

by TMS Media Relations | Jul 17, 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas (July 17, 2013) – Texas Motor Speedway was presented the Facility of Merit Award on Wednesday during the 2013 National Center for Sports Safety and Security Conference and Exhibition in Orlando, Fla.

In earning the award, Texas Motor Speedway has shown exemplary organization and detail in security planning for INDYCAR events. This planning and execution ensure seamless integration of the security processes INDYCAR hopes to achieve at all venues.

Texas Motor Speedway annually plays host to “America’s Original Nighttime IndyCar Race” each June with the Firestone 550 IZOD IndyCar Series race. The speedway has played host to more IZOD IndyCar Series races (25) than any other speedway in the series.

Other venues earning the Facility of Merit Award in their respective sports were University of Phoenix Stadium (NFL), Kauffman Stadium (MLB), American Airlines Arena (NBA), United Center (NHL), Martinsville Speedway (NASCAR), StubHub Center (Major League Soccer), Tiger Stadium (NCAA), Neyland Stadium (NCAA), Spartan Stadium (NCAA) and Racine Unified School district (NFHS).

Established in 2006, the National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS4) at The University of Southern Mississippi was created to provide an interdisciplinary academic environment to further increase sport security awareness, improve sport security policies and procedures and enhance emergency response through evacuation, recovery operations and crowd management training.

For more information about NCS4, visit www.NCS4.com/conference.

1 Comment

  1. 1 Olds88 17 Jul
    The only negative thing about attending the Martinsville race is going through security. No organization and people cutting in line everywhere. Might take you 20 minutes to go forward 20 ft or seconds to go back 10ft. Worse than any airport you could imagine.

    The Indy award was easy to pick TMS for. Security out numbered fans at the gate.

    Oh, the award was from a security convention. I guess they don't factor fan experience into the equation. The only way to win this award is to have the longest and most frustrating lines to get past security or make sure security out numbers the fans.

    Talladega gets my award for security and police presence awareness since every cop in the state attends. Sonoma gets most laid back track award. You just drive through security

Comment

  1.    
     
     
      
       

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders