Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Statement from TMS President Gossage on O. Bruton Smith on Nomination for NASCAR Hall of Fame

by TMS Media Relations | Apr 10, 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas (April 10, 2013) - The following is a statement from Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage regarding Wednesday's announcement that Speedway Motorsports, Inc. Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board O. Bruton Smith was one of five newcomers among the 25 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2014. Texas Motor Speedway is one of eight speedways owned and operated by Smith under the Speedway Motorsports, Inc. banner.

"We are so proud that our boss, Bruton Smith, has been nominated to be considered for the NASCAR Hall of Fame. He deserves to be honored in the Hall. He has been one of the people to lead our sport from a small regional promotion to an international force. I also know the many occasions he has quietly helped employees, crew members and drivers that came across hard times in their lives. Most of all, Bruton has helped the fans by leading the way with modern facilities and major-league promotion. Personally, I'm glad he's my boss, but mostly I'm glad he's my friend." 



Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun