Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS


by TMS Admin | Mar 03, 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas (March 2, 2013) – Three first-time champions were crowned Saturday evening as Shane Hebert won the SUPR Late Model title, John Whittington the Limited Modifieds and Rodney Sanders the Modifieds during two-day, 237-entry Port-A-Cool Texas World Dirt Track Championship at Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track.

Hebert, a 33-year-old native of Lafayette, La., had the most dramatic run of the group as he stormed from the 14th starting position in the 22-car main event to capture his first Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track championship. He quickly carved through the field in the 40-lap main to get in contention, but it wasn’t until Lap 36 that Hebert grabbed second from the fading two-time champion, Rob Litton.

It took only two more laps for the surging Hebert wrestle the lead from Allgayer Motorsports teammate, Jeremy Payne and then pulled away for the victory.

“I’ve been racing here for a few years in the Modifieds and Limited Modifieds, but this was my first time in the Late Model,” Hebert said. “I’ve been close, but I haven’t ever won here and I never thought my first victory would be in this series.

“You come here in Late Models and Modifieds and you got 125 to 200 cars in each class and you pretty much have to have the perfect car to beat that many competitors at one track. Everything has to click. It happens for someone every time, but it is difficult to be that one person.”

The other two titles were won by Texans, with Vidor native Whittington taking the Limited Modified championship. Whittington started on the outside of the first row, but jumped out to the lead early on the first lap and never looked back. Two restarts on Lap 23 made things interesting as Randy Timms, who finished second, made a run on Whittington. Timms, a Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track Modified champion in 2008, got into the back of Whittington and loosened him coming out of Turn 3, but Whittington saved it and held onto the lead for the remaining seven laps.

“I’ve probably led more laps at this place than anybody here and finished second more than anybody here, so it’s just great to get this win,” Whittington said.

Sanders, of Happy, Texas, won his seventh race of the year, but his first championship at Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track with the Modified title. Starting on the pole, Sanders maintained the lead until Lap 32. Between Laps 32 and 34, there were four lead changes between Sanders and fellow USMTS competitor, Ryan Gustin. Sanders and Gustin battled through lapped traffic before Sanders took the lead for the final time with six laps remaining of the 40-lap main.

“We were kind of slide jobbing each other and it was a fun kind of racing,” Sanders said. “We race with (Gustin) a lot and he’s a good racer. Always tough to beat and I’m glad to finally win one.

Dirt track action returns to the Texas Motor Speedway on Sept. 20-21 for the Limited Modified and Modified divisions as well as the ASCS Sprint Cars competing in the Port-A-Cool U.S. National Dirt Track Championship.

SUPR Late Model

  1. Shane Hebert
  2. Rob Litton
  3. Jeremy Payne
  4. Jason Krohn
  5. Timothy Culp
  6. Morgan Bagley
  7. Kevin Sitton
  8. Chase Allen
  9. Ray Moore
  10. Sean Jones
  11. Patrick Daniel
  12. Jim Bryant
  13. Wendall Bolden
  14. Tyler Erb
  15. Jeff Chandler
  16. Steve Whiteaker, Jr.
  17. Chris Brown
  18. Gary Christian
  19. Jon Mitchell
  20. Ryan Gustin
  21. Jesse Stovall
  22. Zachary McMillan


  1. Rodney Sanders
  2. Ryan Gustin
  3. Chris Brown
  4. Bobby Malchus
  5. Chris Henigan
  6. Rany Timms
  7. Josh Landers
  8. Dustin Hyde
  9. Garrett Gregory
  10. Dennie Gieber
  11. Triston Dycus
  12. Steve Whitaker, Jr.
  13. Tracy Denby, Jr.
  14. Mickey Lassiter
  15. Troy Taylor
  16. Paul White
  17. Morgan Bagley
  18. Jamie Burford
  19. Ronald Pilkington
  20. John Whittington
  21. Clyde Dunn, Jr.
  22. Chris Huckeba
  23. David Hennan
  24. Kyle Sweeney
  25. Bryan Mewborn
  26. Dillon Pike

Limited Modified

  1. John Whittington
  2. Randy Timms
  3. Derick Grigsby
  4. J.J. Jennings
  5. Matt Mueller
  6. Dennier Gieber
  7. RJ Stroman
  8. Robert Elliott
  9. Randy Seal
  10. Michael Daniels
  11. Tim Clonch
  12. Mike Goodson
  13. Gary Corbin
  14. Travis Johnson
  15. James Blaylock
  16. Cleo Adams
  17. JC Howell
  18. Brandon Blaylock
  19. Paul White
  20. Mark Harrison
  21. Joe Adamas
  22. Gary Stuckey
  23. Keith McCullough
  24. David Phillips
  25. Braydon Dodson
  26. Wally Beaty



Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 25 Fri
Jul 26 Sat
Aug 16 Sat
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu