Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

HATFIELD ELEMENTARY MAINTAINS LEAD IN 'SPEEDING TO READ' COMPETITION THROUGH TURN 3 OF TEXAN 500

by TMS Media Relations | Feb 17, 2013
• Hatfield, Justin, Clara Love Elementary Schools Combine To Read More Than 190,000 Books Since Start Of School Year

FORT WORTH, Texas (Feb. 1, 2013) - W.R. Hatfield Elementary School, with 52,066 books read and 86 percent of the student body meeting their goals, maintained its lead over Justin and Clara Love elementary schools as the reading competition heads into the final turn of Texas Motor Speedway's "Speeding To Read" educational program.

Hatfield's percentile allowed the Turn 2 leader to barely remain in front of surging Justin Elementary (84 percent), which moved to second after being saddled in third through Turns 1 and 2. Clara Love, the Turn 1 leader, is situated in third at 81 percent. Since the outset of the school year through Turn 3 of the competition known as the "Texan 500" that concluded Wednesday, the 1,500 kindergarten through fifth-grade students at the three schools have combined to read 190,362 books.

"It's amazing what a little competition can do to get our students revved up about reading," Hatfield Elementary School Principal Cathy Sager said. "Hatfield is barely holding onto the lead in Turn 3. Our competitors - Love and Justin - are tight on our bumper and are making all of our students read even more. We are looking forward to taking the checkered flag at that finish line."
 
The "Speeding To Read" competition will culminate the second week of April in conjunction with the Texas 500 NASCAR doubleheader weekend at Texas Motor Speedway. The winning school will earn the oversized "Speeding To Read" championship trophy, a pizza party compliments of Domino's Pizza and 1,000 books for their school library courtesy of "Score-A-Goal In The Classroom." Also, the top K-2 and 3-5 individuals and classrooms will receive trophies, prizes and tickets to the Texas 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race on April 13 compliments of the speedway.
 
Clara Love has the top classroom in both divisions heading into Turn 4. Ms. Green's second-grade class leads the K-2 Division with 11,501 books read while Ms. Porter's fifth-grade class paces the 3-5 Division with 770 books read.
 
Hatfield kindergartener Katie Gilbert is the individual leader in the K-2 Division with 1,790 books read. She is followed by Hatfield's Chloe Brown (1,264), Clara Love's William Arnett (1,027) and Zya Love (981), and Justin's Miles Koon (952).
 
Justin fourth-grader Cooper Donoho leads the 3-5 Division with 142 books read and is followed by Clara Love's Brandon Etchieson (132) and Justin Barnes (109), and Justin's Angel Rios (93) and John Tanner (88).
 
About Texas Motor Speedway's "Speeding To Read" Program: The mission of Texas Motor Speedway's "Speeding To Read" program is to utilize motorsports, its drivers and our races to incentivize elementary school children to read more frequently and enrich their educational experience. "Speeding To Read" is an incentive-based, NASCAR-themed reading program created by Texas Motor Speedway to encourage elementary school students to read more frequently during the school year. Texas Motor Speedway selected Clara Love Elementary School in nearby Justin, Texas, to partner with on this pilot program that debuted at the outset of the 2011-2012 school year. The student body was split into two divisions - kindergarten through second grade and third through fifth grade - with the classrooms competing against each other to read the most books and earn the title of "Speeding To Read"champions. TMS crowned the leaders in the two divisions - as well as individual leaders - quarterly and provided each leading classroom with a trophy and a gift bag for each of the students. 
The quarters are based off key dates in the NASCAR schedule and represent the four turns of a race track. Turn 1 is the start of the Chase for the Sprint Cup in mid-September; Turn 2 is TMS' AAA Texas 500 NASCAR race week in November; Turn 3 is the start of the new season with SpeedWeeks and the Daytona 500 in February; and Turn 4 is TMS' Texas 500 NASCAR race week in April.

Comment

  1.    
     
     
      
       

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders