Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

TRUEX. JR LEADS OPENING AAA TEXAS 500 SPRINT CUP PRACTICE

by TMS Website | Nov 02, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas (November 2, 2012) – Martin Truex Jr., who the pole in April’s Samsung Mobile 500, posted the fastest lap in Friday’s opening NASCAR Sprint Cup Series practice for the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Truex Jr. (No. 56 Carlyle Tools by NAPA Toyota) ran a lap of 190.745 miles per hour (28.310 seconds) to top the 46 drivers that ran in the 90-minute practice session. Michael Waltrip Racing swept the top two spots as Mark Martin (No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota) was second at 190.449 mph.

Brad Keselowski (No. 2 Miller Lite Dodge), second in the Chase championship hunt, was third at 190.121 and was followed by Clint Bowyer (No. 15 5-Hour Energy Toyota) at 189.867 mph and Tony Stewart (No. 14 Office Depot/Mobil 1 Chevrolet) at 188.805 mph to round out the top five.

Five-time Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet), the current leader in the Chase, was 27th at 185.867 mph.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series returns to the track at 3:40 p.m. CT today for SportsDay Qualifying Day Powered by The Dallas Morning News.

Frontstretch tickets for Sunday’s AAA Texas 500, the eighth race in the 10-event Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, are still available by visiting www.texasmotorspeedway.com or by calling (817) 215-8500.

Pos Car Driver Speed
1 56 Martin Truex Jr. 190.745
2 55 Mark Martin 190.449
3 2 Brad Keselowski 190.121
4 15 Clint Bowyer 189.867
5 14 Tony Stewart 188.805
6 43 Aric Alrmirola 188.633
7 17 Matt Kenseth 187.963
8 5 Kasey Kahne 187.826
9 29 Kevin Harvick 187.748
10 16 Greg Biffle 187.735
11 11 Denny Hamlin 187.474
12 99 Carl Edwards 187.402
13 9 Marcos Ambrose 187.272
14 18 Kyle Busch 187.149
15 *21 Trevor Bayne(i) 187.052
16 31 Jeff Burton 186.696
17 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 186.670
18 78 Kurt Busch 186.522
19 13 Casey Mears 186.503
20 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 186.464
21 22 Sam Hornish Jr.(i) 186.361
22 27 Paul Menard 186.329
23 20 Joey Logano 186.091
24 39 Ryan Newman 186.027
25 38 David Gilliland 185.931
26 24 Jeff Gordon 185.918
27 48 Jimmie Johnson 185.867
28 51 AJ Allmendinger 185.790
29 47 Bobby Labonte 185.204
30 *37 JJ Yeley 185.198
31 1 Jamie McMurray 184.944
32 34 David Ragan 184.881
33 *30 David Stremme 184.653
34 10 Danica Patrick(i) 184.351
35 *98 Michael McDowell 184.326
36 *95 Scott Speed 184.244
37 *79 Kelly Bires 183.880
38 83 Landon Cassill 183.767
39 93 Travis Kvapil 183.748
40 *87 Joe Nemechek(i) 183.530
41 *91 Reed Sorenson(i) 183.524
42 *26 Josh Wise # 183.499
43 *19 Mike Bliss(i) 183.492
44 *33 Stephen Leicht # 182.667
45 36 Dave Blaney 182.186
46 32 Ken Schrader 180.138

# Denotes Rookie
* Required to qualify on time
(i) Ineligible for driver points in this series

Comment

  1.    
     
     
      
       

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders