Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS


by TMS Media Relations | Jun 09, 2012
FORT WORTH, Texas (June 9, 2012) – A.J. Foyt, considered one of the greatest drivers of all time in any genre of motorsports, will serve as Grand Marshal for Saturday evening’s Firestone 550 IZOD IndyCar Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Foyt, a 77-year-old Houston native, has won in virtually every type of car, winning 14 national titles and 172 major races in an illustrious career that spanned four decades and three continents. He is most well known for his Indy-car career, where he holds records for most career victories (67), national championships (7) and victories in a single season (10). He also was the first four-time winner of the Indianapolis 500.

Foyt holds the honor of being the only driver in history to win these crown jewels of motorsports – the Indianapolis 500, Daytona 500 and 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Foyt remains active in Indy-car racing as the owner of A.J. Foyt Racing in the IZOD IndyCar Series since 1996. Mike Conway will be in the A.J. Foyt racing entry – the No. 14 ABC Supply Co. Honda – for tonight’s Firestone 550. Foyt won on his “home track” – Texas Motor Speedway – in 1998 as an owner with Billy Boat as his driver.

“It’s hard for me to believe that I’ve been racing Indy cars for over 50 years,” Foyt said. “I’ve had so many good memories, and some not so good, but I wouldn’t trade any of it.”

Foyt will give the command of “Ladies and gentlemen, start your engines,” at approximately 7:45 p.m. CT.

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun