Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

GRONHOLM WINS INAUGURAL HOON KABOOM TEXAS RALLYCROSS RACE

by TMS Webmaster | Jun 09, 2012


 

FORT WORTH, Texas (June 9, 2012) – Finland’s Marcus Gronholm continued his torrid start in the Global Rallycross Championship, winning Saturday’s Hoon Kaboom Texas at Texas Motor Speedway to give him victories in the first two races of the season.

Gronholm (No. 3 Best Buy Mobile/OMSE 2012 Ford Fiesta), who won the GRC season opener at Charlotte Motor Speedway two weeks ago, was dominant throughout Hoon Kaboom as he earned the top seed in qualifying, won his heat by seven seconds and cruised to nearly a nine-second victory over runner-up Tanner Foust (No. 34 Rockstar Energy Etnies Ford/OMSE 2012 Ford Fiesta) in the 10-car final.

Brian Deegan (No. 38 Rockstar Energy Metal Mulisha Ford/OMSE 2012 Ford Fiesta) finished third to give Ford Racing a podium sweep in the inaugural GRC event at Texas that featured a 70-foot gap jump and table-top jump on the course.

Gronholm and Foust finished 1-2, respectively, in the first two GRC races and they own the top two positions in the Global Rallycross Championship heading into the X Games Los Angeles later this month. Gronholm owns a six-point lead, 42-36, over Foust in the six-race season.

The top 12 in the GRC points standings following Hoon Kaboom Texas earned automatic berths in the rallycross competition for the X Games Los Angeles scheduled for June 30-July 1. Joining Gronholm and Foust are Stephan Verdier (26 points), Rhys Millen (24), Samuel Hubinette (23), David Binks (22), Andy Scott (21), Deegan (20), Dave Mirra (14), Sverre Isachsen (12), Ken Block (11) and Buddy Lasek and Travis Pastrana (10-tie).

Hoon Kaboom TX Results

Rank Num Driver
1 3 Marcus Gronholm
2 34 Tanner Foust
3 38 Brian Deegan
4 67 Rhys Millen
5 17 David Binks
6 12 Stephan Verdier
7 77 Samuel Hubinette
8 43 Ken Block
9 26 Andy Scott
10 11 Sverre Isachsen
11 33 Liam Doran
12 40 Dave Mirra
13 81 Bucky Lasek
14 17 Patrick Moro
15 199 Travis Pastrana
16 99 Filipe Albuquerque
17 418 Jimmy Keeney
18 57 Toomas Heikkinen

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun