Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Johnson Pads The Stats

by TMS Webmaster | Apr 18, 2012
Five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson walked away with a runner-up finish in Saturday night's Samsung Mobile 500 for the fifth time in 18 appearances at Texas Motor Speedway. Johnson's fifth runner-up performance is the most second-place finishes by a Sprint Cup Series driver, passing Matt Kenseth's four runner-up finishes. 
 
"Yeah man, second sucks," Johnson said following the race. "I wish we could have won. We were in contention, had a great race car."
 
In Johnson's previous 12 races at Texas Motor Speedway, he has compiled an impressive stat line. He has one win (2007 Dickies 500), started in the top 10 in 10 of the 12 races, tallied five runner-up finishes, eight top 10s and has led 273 laps. His average finish of 9.7 is second best, just behind Matt Kenseth's 8.6 mark. 

Keyword Tags

Jimmie Johnson

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders