Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

LEGENDARY BAND FOREIGNER SET TO RETURN TO TEXAS MOTOR SPEEDWAY TO HIGHLIGHT SAMSUNG MOBILE 500 PRE-RACE SHOW

by TMS Media Relations | Nov 06, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 6, 2011) – Legendary rock-n-roll band Foreigner will make a return trip to Texas Motor Speedway as the group will headline the pre-race show for the Samsung Mobile 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race Saturday, April 14.

Foreigner, who performed in its first NASCAR pre-race show during the 2009 Samsung Mobile 500, collaborated on a remix of the band’s hit song “Hot Blooded” that incorporates lyrics supporting the speedway’s “No Limits” marketing campaign and NASCAR. The song, “Hot Blooded-No Limits,” will serve as the theme song for Texas Motor Speedway and will be one of the many hits fans will hear prior to the Samsung Mobile 500.

“Foreigner has become a fan favorite,” Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage said. “They truly embody our ‘No Limits’ attitude and fans better be ready for what they have in store for the Samsung Mobile 500.”

More than 30 years after releasing their first multi-platinum album, Foreigner’s music resonates globally across generations with album sales exceeding 70 million. An impressive run of 14 Top-20 hits includes worldwide number one hit “I Want To Know What Love Is,” “Cold As Ice,” “Double Vision,” “Head Games,” “Urgent,” “Waiting For A Girl Like You” and video-game staples such as “Hot Blooded” and “Juke Box Hero.”

Foreigner’s tours continue to electrify audiences and establish the group in its rightful place as one of the top touring attractions.  Formed in 1976 by English rocker Mick Jones, the current lineup includes: Jones (lead guitar), Kelly Hansen (lead vocals/ percussion), Jeff Pilson (bass guitar), Tom Gimbel (guitar/saxophone/flute), Michael Bluestein (keyboards) and Mark Schulman (drums).

Fans can purchase a special “mosh pit” ticket for to catch all the excitement of the pre-race show. The $79 “mosh pit” ticket provides exclusive front-stage access for the concert, driver introductions and all pre-race festivities. A “mosh pit” ticket must be accompanied by a Samsung Mobile 500 race ticket. Tickets and “mosh pit” tickets to the Samsung Mobile 500 go on sale Friday, Dec. 2, and tickets can be purchased by calling the Texas Motor Speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500 or by visiting www.texasmotorspeedway.com.

 

Keyword Tags

Foreigner

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun