Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Sadler Wins Pole For O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge

by TMS Webmaster | Nov 04, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas (November 4, 2011) –  Elliott Sadler, who was the final car to go out, overtook Kyle Busch to earn the pole for the Nationwide Series O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge on Friday during The Dallas Morning News Qualifying Days at Texas Motor Speedway.

Sadler (No. 2 OneMain Financial Chevrolet), who was fastest in Friday’s opening practice session, ran a lap of 186.348 miles per hour (28.978 seconds) for his fifth pole of the season and 11th  of his career. It also was his second career pole at Texas Motor Speedway, having previously won the Nationwide Series pole in April of 1998.

Sadler edged Busch (No. 18 Z-Line Designs Toyota) by .004 of a second, who will start on the front row with a lap of 186.323 mph. Joey Logano (No. 20 GameStop/Call of Duty MW3 Toyota) qualified third at 186.239 mph and Nationwide Series points leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (No. 6 Sam’s Club/Cargill Ford), who was fastest in the final practice session, was fourth at 186.136 mph. Rounding out the top five was Clint Bowyer (No. 33 Rheem Heating, Cooling & Water Heating Chevrolet) at 185.925 mph.

Forty-eight cars attempted to make the 43-car O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge and those not qualifying were Erik Darnell, Mark Green, Matt Carter, Johnny Chapman and Dennis Setzer.

The O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge is set for a Noon CT start Saturday. Tickets are still available by calling (817) 215-8500 or by visiting www.texasmotorspeedway.com.

Pos Car Driver Time Speed
1 2 Elliott Sadler 28.978 186.348
2 18 Kyle Busch(i) 28.982 186.323
3 20 Joey Logano(i) 28.995 186.239
4 6 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 29.011 186.136
5 33 Clint Bowyer(i) 29.044 185.925
6 22 Brad Keselowski(i) 29.047 185.906
7 11 Brian Scott 29.058 185.835
8 60 Carl Edwards(i) 29.084 185.669
9 12 Sam Hornish, Jr. 29.116 185.465
10 16 Trevor Bayne 29.178 185.071
11 7 Danica Patrick 29.289 184.37
12 38 Jason Leffler 29.296 184.326
13 81 Blake Koch # 29.324 184.15
14 31 Justin Allgaier 29.401 183.667
15 88 Aric Almirola 29.46 183.299
16 27 JJ Yeley(i) 29.463 183.281
17 66 Steve Wallace 29.493 183.094
18 09 Kenny Wallace 29.544 182.778
19 19 Mike Bliss 29.565 182.648
20 30 James Buescher(i) 29.594 182.469
21 32 Brian Vickers(i) 29.679 181.947
22 82 Reed Sorenson 29.71 181.757
23 4 Tim Andrews 29.778 181.342
24 8 David Ragan(i) 29.793 181.251
25 3 Scott Riggs 29.811 181.141
26 01 Mike Wallace 29.877 180.741
27 87 Joe Nemechek 29.887 180.681
28 70 David Stremme(i) 29.944 180.337
29 23 Robert Richardson, Jr. 29.955 180.27
30 62 Michael Annett 29.963 180.222
31 15 Timmy Hill # 30.009 179.946
32 50 TJ Bell(i) 30.088 179.474
33 46 Chase Miller 30.095 179.432
34 39 Joey Gase 30.114 179.319
35 47 Scott Speed 30.123 179.265
36 75 Carl Long 30.139 179.17
37 51 Jeremy Clements 30.214 178.725
38 52 Jamie Dick(i) 30.222 178.678
39 14 Eric McClure 30.379 177.754
40 28 Derrike Cope 30.752 175.598
41 89 Morgan Shepherd 31.034 174.003
42 40 Josh Wise 32.46 166.359
43 44 * Jeff Green 30.457 177.299

# Rookie, (i) Ineligible for driver points in this series
DNQ - Darnell, M Green, Carter, Chapman, Setzer

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders