Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

STUDENTS REACH TURN 1 IN THE CLARA LOVE 500 'SPEEDING TO READ' COMPETITION

by TMS Media Relations | Sep 30, 2011

Clara Love Elementary School students have reached Turn 1 in the Clara Love 500 - Texas Motor Speedway’s year-long Speeding To Read program - and the current classroom leaders in the kindergarten through second and third through fifth divisions were recognized Friday morning in a school-wide assembly.

Mrs. Abrams’ first grade class leads the K-2 division with a total of 1,407 books read, while Ms. Baker’s fifth grade class tops the 3-5 division with 176 chapter books. Out of all 29 classrooms (more than 600 students total) Clara Love Elementary school has read a total of 14,011 in the six weeks that the 2011-2012 school year has been in session.

Speeding To Read is an incentive-based reading program created by Texas Motor Speedway to encourage students to read more frequently during the school year. The student body will be split into two divisions – kindergarten through second grade and third through fifth grade – with the classrooms competing against each other to read the most books and earn the title of Speeding To Read champions.

The K-2 and grade 3-5 champions at the conclusion of the school year will earn class trophies and each student will receive four frontstretch grandstand tickets to next April’s Samsung Mobile 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

To keep abreast of the competition – which is known as the Clara Love 500 – Texas Motor Speedway had an 8x24-foot animated mural of the world-class motorsports facility produced to hang on Clara Love’s library wall.

Each class received a cut-out template of a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series stock car and designed their own paint scheme as part of the program. The cars move incrementally around the track in relation to the amount of books read by each classroom.

The top-five classrooms in each division are listed below.

K-2 Division

1st Place: Mrs. Abrams, 1st Grade, 1,407 books

2nd Place: Mrs. Pollock, 1st Grade, 1,307 books

3rd Place: Mrs. Vasquez, 1st Grade, 1,196 books

4th Place: Mrs. Morgan, 1st Grade, 1,012 books

5th Place: Mrs. Melbourn, 2nd Grade, 1,011 books

3-5 Division

1st Place: Ms. Baker, 5th Grade, 176 books

2nd Place: Mrs. Coronado, 3rd Grade, 163 books

3rd Place: Mr. Hollingsworth, 3rd Grade, 141 books

4th Place: Mrs. Degnan, 4th Grade, 132 books

5th Place: Mrs. Lawson, 3rd Grade, 124 books

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun