Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

David Starr To Make Sprint Cup Series Debut At Texas Motor Speedway

by TMS Media Relations | Apr 03, 2011

TYLER, TX, APRIL 4TH, 2011: Leavine Fenton Racing and David Starr are looking forward to making their debut NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start on April 9 at Texas Motor Speedway for the Samsung Mobile 500.

David Starr will pilot the No. 95 Leavine Fenton Racing Ford Fusion as he looks to put on a show for the hometown crowd.  Texas businesses B&D Electrical and TWD Drywall will be on the car along with WRL General Contractors, Ltd. and Fenton Motor Group. 

Between the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and the NASCAR Nationwide Series, David has 30 starts at Texas Motor Speedway. However, this will be his first attempt at a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start. The team is not locked into the top 35 in points, but they have the resources to qualify and race competitively.

“Words can’t describe how big this is,”  David Starr said. “Ever since I was a little boy, I wanted to attempt to qualify for a Cup race. The ultimate dream is to race in the biggest series in the world, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. I can’t make the word be big enough to what it means. I’m just honored, proud, and blessed to have the opportunity to do that with good equipment. Even though it’s my home track, I’m racing against the most competitive drivers in the world, and to have the opportunity to race against the best in the world is pretty cool.”  

The team announced their formation back on January 7. They will compete in Roush Fenway Racing chassis with Roush Yates Engines. There are only five fulltime employees at the North Carolina shop with veteran crew chief, Wally Rogers calling the shots on pit road and Mark Gregory as the spotter. Over The Wall Crew (OTWCrew) from Mooresville, N.C. will pit the car for the Texas weekend as well.

“With the equipment that Bob Leavine and Lance Fenton have purchased for our new team and with Wally Rogers as the crew chief and everybody working hard, I feel that we have a really good chance to perform well,” Starr said. “We will learn from our mistakes and failures. The good thing about it is that everybody is willing to learn as a team. Our expectations are high, but the reality is that you are racing with the best teams and drivers in the world. If we don’t have success right off the bat, then we will stick together as a team and learn from it and keep digging.”

The team is setting high goals for their debut race, and they have the resources to have a great finish. However, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is the most competitive series in the world. They have experienced mechanics and an experienced driver. Bob 

Leavine and Lance Fenton are extremely competitive business owners as well. With all of these traits, the team will put on a great show for the Texas fans. 

 

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders