Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

3 Doors Down To Bring 'No Limits' Attitude To Samsung Mobile 500 Pre-Race Show

by TMS Media Relations | Mar 08, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas (March 8, 2011) – Texas Motor Speedway is bringing its “No Limits” attitude to its musical entertainment for the Samsung Mobile 500 on Saturday, April 9, with a pre-race concert by modern American rockers, 3 Doors Down.

3 Doors Down will perform a free concert beginning at 5 p.m. CT on the frontstretch stage to highlight the pre-race activities leading up to the start of the first-ever Saturday night NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

The Mississippi-based band, whose latest album Time of My Life will make its debut this spring, has sold more than 16 million albums worldwide while also earning three Grammy nominations, two American Music Awards and five BMI Pop Awards for songwriting.

“What group defines our ‘No Limits’ attitude better than 3 Doors Down,” Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage said. “A historic race deserves a show-stopping pre-race performance to get race fans on their feet and I don’t think they will disappoint.”

Energizing race fans is nothing new to the group. The members of 3 Doors Down are fans of the sport and have performed at other NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races, including the Budweiser Shootout at Daytona International Speedway in 2005 and prior to the Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway in 2008. The band also featured its favorite driversTony Stewart and Dale Earnhardt Jr. in their video “The Road I’m On.” 

“3 Doors Down loves NASCAR!” lead singer Brad Arnold said. “We are excited to be a part of the first Texas night race! When the sun goes down, it’s time to get crazy!”

3 Doors Down has been entertaining fans since starting as a fledging band from Mississippi in the mid-1990s and has evolved into one of rock’s most recognizable bands. The group -- which consists of Arnold, Matt Roberts, Todd Harrell, Chris Henderson and Greg Upchurch -- is perhaps best known for its chart-topping hits “Kryptonite,” “When I’m Gone” and “Here Without You.” 3 Doors Down’s debut album was a signal of the success that was set to follow the band as The Better Life is now certified six times platinum. The group’s two most recent albums, Seventeen Days and 3 Doors Down, also enjoyed immediate success, debuting at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 Chart.

While the concert is free to all Samsung Mobile 500 ticket holders, 3 Doors Down fans can get even closer to the music by purchasing a special $79 “mosh pit” ticket. The ticket provides a stage-side view for the band’s performance, in addition to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver introductions for the Samsung Mobile 500. A “mosh pit” ticket must accompany a grandstand ticket for the Samsung Mobile 500.

To purchase “mosh pit” tickets or tickets to the Samsung Mobile 500, visit www.texasmotorspeedway.com or call the Texas Motor Speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500.

 

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders