Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Lanny Edwards Receives Seventh Nomination For National Promoter Of The Year

by TMS Media Relations | Feb 21, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas (February 22, 2011) –  Lanny Edwards and his wife Beverly, longtime friends of Texas Motor Speedway, were awarded the 2011 Regional Promoter of the Year award from Racing Promotion Monthly. Nominations for these awards were made from over 100 different short tracks in 41 states. 

As Regional Promoter of the Year, Edwards, a native of Childress, Texas, was one of six promoters eligible for the National Promoter of the Year award. Edwards has been honored with the Auto Racing Regional Promoter of the Year award seven of the 10 times he has been nominated. He has also been nominated for the National Promoter of the Year award seven times, receiving the prestigious award in 2002. 

“This was my 10th time to be nominated for the regional award and I’ve won the national award once and I appreciate that, but there are so many promoters around the country that do a good job,” Edwards said. “I think it’s an honor, even through I’ve been nominated 10 times, to be nominated [again].”

He is a member of both the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame. In recognition of his dedication to racing Texas Motor Speedway has an award named in his honor. The Lanny Edwards Award is given by Texas Motor Speedway and Edwards to one exemplary racing figure each year.

Edwards has been the co-organizer of the renowned Chili Bowl Nationals in Tulsa, Okla., since its inception in 1987. He also owns Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas, and Lawton Speedway in Lawton, Okla. Devils’ Bowl is the birthplace of the World of Outlaw Sprint Car circuit and is known as the Southwest’s most famous dirt track.

When asked what has made him successful in his 50 years in the industry, Edwards said it comes down to hard work. “They think I’m smart, but I’m just a hard worker. We’ve kept plugging and plugging. I’ve been very fortunate to do what I’ve done.”

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders