Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Daytona 500 Champion Bayne Scheduled To Compete In April 9 Samsung Mobile 500

by TMS Media Relations | Feb 21, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas (February 21, 2011) – Trevor Bayne, who became the youngest winner of the Daytona 500 on Sunday, is now scheduled to compete April 9 in the Samsung Mobile 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway after the Wood Brothers announced they planned to run the first seven races of this season with him behind the wheel of the No. 21 entry.

As a result of that Daytona 500 win, the Wood Brothers opted to expand his partial schedule to the first seven races of the season and the Samsung Mobile 500 at Texas Motor Speedway happens to fall as the seventh and final race of that plan.

Bayne, the 20-year-old sensation who stunned the motorsports world with his victory, now will be handling a double-duty weekend at Texas Motor Speedway in April. In addition to the Samsung Mobile 500, he will be competing April 8 in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 Nationwide Series race as he is running a fulltime schedule for Roush-Fenway Racing in that series.

The Daytona 500 was only Bayne’s second career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start. He made his Cup debut Nov. 7 in the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway, starting 28th and finishing 17th for the Wood Brothers in their No. 21 entry.

Tickets are available for the April 7-9 Samsung Mobile 500 NASCAR weekend by calling (817) 215-8500 or by visiting www.texasmotorspeedway.com.

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Aug 16 Sat
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun