Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Victory In Indy 500 Has Had Carry-Over Effect At TMS

by TMS Media Relations | May 26, 2010

Looking for a pick to win the Firestone 550k at Texas Motor Speedway on June 5? The winner of Sunday’s Indianapolis 500 could be a good choice. In the last two seasons, the Indianapolis 500 champion has gone on to win the IndyCar Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

In 2008, Scott Dixon became the fifth IndyCar Series driver in Texas Motor Speedway history to win from the pole in the Bombardier Learjet 550k. Nearly two weeks earlier, he was celebrating in Victory Lane at Indianapolis Motor Speedway with his win in the 92nd running of the Indianapolis 500. Last year, Helio Castroneves won his third Indianapolis 500 crown and went on to claim his third IndyCar series victory at Texas Motor Speedway in the Bombardier Learjet 550k.

Prior to the sweep run in the last two years, the only other driver that accomplished the feat was Arie Luyendyk in Texas Motor Speedway’s opening year in 1997.

This year will be the first time in the history of the Indy Racing League that the IndyCar Series’ two marquee events will be run in consecutive weekends. The 94th running of the Indianapolis 500 takes place Sunday at Noon ET while the Firestone 550k, “America’s Original Nightime IndyCar Race,” takes place June 5 at 7:30 p.m. CT.

Fans, along with media, can visit with the Indianapolis 500 winner as they make their way to Fort Worth for the Firestone 550k. Texas Motor Speedway will play host to the Indianapolis 500 Champion’s Luncheon on Wednesday, June 2, at 8.0 Restaurant & Bar Patio in Sundance Square at Noon CT. The event, which is free to the public, will feature musical entertainment by Texas country recording artist Charla Corn, along with Q&A sessions hosted by Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage with the Indy 500 winner and motorcycle daredevil Robbie Knievel.

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun