Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Season First For Four-Time Champion

by TMS Media Relations | Nov 10, 2009

Four-time Sprint Cup Series champion Jeff Gordon has been “streaky” at Texas Motor Speedway this year.

Gordon’s victory in April’s Samsung 500 snapped a 47-race winless streak and during his return visit for last week’s Dickies 500 he extended a streak. He captured the Dickies 500 pole Friday – his first since, you guessed it, last year’s Dickies 500 – to extend the record of 17 consecutive seasons with at least one pole.

Gordon also became the second driver to win consecutive poles in the same event at Texas Motor Speedway, joining Texas native Bobby Labonte (2003, ’04). The pole was the second of his career at Texas Motor Speedway and it placed him in a tie atop the list for most poles with Labonte, Ryan Newman (2005-S, ’05-F) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2001, ’08-S).

“It’s an honor to have 17 straight seasons,” Gordon said. “To finally get it, it doesn’t matter to me if it happens the first race or the last race really, other than it just takes a little bit of heat off you if you do it early. But the fact that we did get it and to do it here at Texas, a track where we have struggled at until recently, this is a great place to do it and we’re focused on ending this season the best we can.” 

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Aug 16 Sat
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun