Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Stewart Looks To Surpass Last Year's Record-Breaking 'Smoke Show' Total By Extending Event To Two Days

by TMS Media Relations | Feb 25, 2009

FORT WORTH, Texas (February  25, 2009) – Last year’s inaugural “Smoke Show” fantasy camp was wildly successful as it became the largest single-day grossing event in the history of the Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas Chapter, but host Tony Stewart had a simple concept to make it twice as successful.

Stewart, who spearheaded the $262,000 raised last year, will generously donate even more of his time this year as he will expand the “Smoke Show” to two days and look to raise $500,000 for SCC. The dates will be Aug. 4-5 and fans will have the opportunity to select either day for their fantasy camp. 

The two-time Sprint Cup Series champion will serve as host for both days of the camp that offers participants the opportunity to walk in the shoes of a driver on race day. The participants get the full race experience, complete with a locker room, pre-race ceremonies, Victory Lane celebration with confetti and Beretta six-shooters, driving Team Texas stock cars around Texas Motor Speedway and an unforgettable ride alongside Stewart in his No.14 Office Depot/Old Spice Chevrolet. On the evening of Aug. 4, the participants of both daily camps will come together for a special dinner and auction with Stewart in the Texas Grand Ballroom of the Speedway Club.

“Tony did an incredible job last year hosting the ‘Smoke Show’ and his wishes to expand it to a two-day event truly exemplify his passion for assisting charities like SCC,” Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage said. “He has a huge heart and the children in Collin, Dallas, Denton and Tarrant counties will benefit from his generosity.”

This year’s event will be divided into two sessions with one group participating Tuesday, Aug. 4 and the second Wednesday, Aug. 5. Participants from both sessions will enjoy dinner and an auction with the Stewart-Haas Racing driver and owner Tuesday evening of the two-day affair.

The event was first developed in 2007 following a fantasy camp with Stewart that was developed for a media event. The concept evolved and turned into a fundraising event for Speedway Children’s Charities last year.

The $262,000 raised during last year’s “Smoke Show” helped Speedway Children’s Charities establish a new record with $1 million in grants distributed to 121 Dallas/Fort Worth-area charities. Speedway Children’s Charities generates funds through a wide range of events held throughout the year, including annual events such as the Sam Hornish Jr. Bowling Tournament, Laps for Charities, Life in the Fast Lane and the Beretta Clay Shoot.     

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders