Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

News from TMS

Earnhardt Jr., Gossage Bury The Hatchet

by TMS Media Relations | Feb 16, 2009

TMS President Eddie Gossage and Dale Earnhardt Jr. recently took turns firing shots at each other regarding how each should play their part in helping fans during tough economic times. To many it seemed like a heated feud, but Earnhardt Jr. says it’s nothing new.

“We’ve always been hard-headed with each other,” Earnhardt Jr. said. “He’s always been a real good friend of my family and he’s done a lot of good things for my dad and me. It’s still fun to raise hell with him a little bit in the press. I ain’t claiming victory, but it was fun going back and forth and it didn’t get personal. He’s a pretty sharp cat."

Gossage and Earnhardt Jr. traded barbs through the media about what drivers and promoters should do, but each now has a new understanding of their individual situations.

"I think we are a lot alike," Gossage said. "He likes to poke at me and I will poke back at him. Not a lot of people will poke back at him. I think he kind of likes that. We have a good relationship."

Related Articles

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Apr 24 Thu
Apr 25 Fri
Apr 26 Sat
Apr 27 Sun
Jun 06 Fri
Jun 07 Sat
Jun 13 Fri
Jun 20 Fri
Jun 27 Fri
Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun

NASCAR/IndyCar Leaders