Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

Announcements from TMS

2013 Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame

by Speedway Children's Charities | 03/26/2013

Jack Roush’s success at Texas Motor Speedway has become a part of the speedway’s growing history. It was Roush who became the first team owner to sweep both events at “The Great American Speedway!” during the inaugural season in 1997. His success has not stopped there as he has since gone on to win 18 races as a car owner across NASCAR’s top three national series at Texas Motor Speedway.

His dominance at Texas Motor Speedway has earned him the honor of becoming the 15th member inducted into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame. Roush will be honored Thursday, April 11, during the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame Gala benefitting Speedway Children’s Charities which will be held in The Speedway Club’s Grand Ballroom.

Roush’s induction caps off an evening that celebrates the accomplishments of motorsport’s most talented drivers and contributors. Other honorees on the evening include five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson; 2004 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Kurt Busch; IZOD IndyCar Series driver Graham Rahal; and legendary motorsports journalist Chris Economaki.

Roush has helped establish one of the most successful organizations in motorsports in Roush Fenway Racing. The organization stands as the winningest team in NASCAR history and boasts the most wins in both the NASCAR Nationwide and Camping World Truck Series. With Roush at the helm Roush Fenway Racing has captured seven championships across NASCAR’s three major series, including two Sprint Cup Series championships in 2003 and 2004.

Roush joins an accomplished list of individuals that have been inducted into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame since it was established in 2003. He joins previous inductees A.J. Foyt (2003), Johnny Rutherford ('03), Terry Labonte ('04), Lee Shepherd ('04), Kenny Bernstein ('05), Jim Hall ('05), Eddie Hill ('06), Mark Martin ('07), Jim McElreath ('07), Bobby Labonte ('08), Bruton Smith ('08), Joe Gibbs ('09), John Force ('10) and Lanny Edwards (’11).

Johnson, who turned his most dominating season at Texas Motor Speedway with a victory in the AAA Texas 500 and runner-up finish in the Samsung Mobile 500, will receive the Texas Motor Speedway Racer of the Year award. Johnson once again displayed his championship form during the AAA Texas 500 as he became just the second driver to win from the pole for his second career victory at Texas Motor Speedway. His win comes off his previous performance during April’s Samsung Mobile 500 where he led a race-high 156 laps. In all, Johnson led a total of 324 of 669 laps during the 2012 season at “The Great American Speedway!”

Busch, 2004 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, also has been instrumental in helping Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas Chapter raise funds to benefit children in North Texas. He will be recognized as this year’s recipient of the Maj. General Thomas Sadler Award. Busch has hosted some of Speedway Children’s Charities biggest fundraising events which include the Kurt Busch Celebrity Bowling Tournament and Busch-Whacked Mud Run. In all, Busch has helped Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas Chapter raise more than $40,000.

IZOD IndyCar Series driver Graham Rahal will receive the Texas Motor Speedway Sportsmanship Award. Rahal’s demeanor both on and off the track have excemplified the idea of sportsmanship. In June he appeared head to his second career IZOD IndyCar Series victory before his car brushed the wall and handing over the lead and the victory to Justin Wilson. Following the race Rahal handled defeat as a true professional. His sportsmanship has been demonstrated off the track through his work with the Graham Rahal Foundation and his efforts to help the family of the late Dan Wheldon in 2011 by generating an auction that raised more than $600,000.

Economaki, motorsport’s most noted and accomplished journalist, will be honored with the Bruton Smith Legend Award. Economaki left a lasting impact on the motorsports community through his work as both an editor and publisher for National Speed Sport News and television commentator. His passion for racing helped him earn the title “Dean of American Motorsports.” His 74-year career as a journalist helped capture the early history of motorsports, covering premier events in NASCAR, IndyCar and Formula One.

A special VIP reception will be held prior to the awards ceremony beginning at 6:30 p.m. CT, followed by dinner beginning at 7:15 p.m. Fans can join in honoring the recipients by purchasing sponsorship or individual tickets to the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame.

Table sponsorships, beginning at $1,200, and individual tickets for $150 are available by calling the Speedway Children's Charities office at (817) 215-8421 or by emailing scc@texasmotorspeedway.com.

1 Comment

  1. 1 rob 30 May

    We want to see a racing legend  named  Freddy "The Beaumont Flyer" Fryar  in the HOF .

    800 plus wins , Florida, Georgia, Alabama, La., Mississippi , Tennessee and  last but not least TEXAS.  



Upcoming Race Fan Events

Aug 16 Sat
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun