Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

Announcements from TMS

Thursday Night Summer Stampede Gets Underway June 23

by admin | 06/15/2011

It’s that time of the year again! Thursday Night Summer Stampede returns, beginning next week and running through Aug. 19. You’re not going to want to miss this unique racing series that consists of the Lone Star Legends, Bandoleros, and for the first time ever, Limited Modifieds.

Unsure what a Legends car is? Legends cars are replicas of American automobiles from the 1930s and 1940s, powered by a Yamaha motorcycle engine. Legends Cars are a "spec" series, meaning all cars are mechanically identical, with the exception of three styles of car (Standard coupe, 34 Coupe, and Sedan) available with 10 types of body styles. (New cars are currently offered with only seven body styles, however, many used cars exist with the "older" styles. As for the Bandolero car, it is a mix between a car and kart that is designed for drivers as young as eight years old. Lastly, a Limited Modified car is a modified dirt track car that will run on the ¼-mile asphalt of Texas Motor Speedway.  This division gives new competitors the chance to experiment with modified racing at the lowest possible cost while still experiencing the rush that is known for Modified cars.

Thursday Night Summer Stampede provides a fun, family friendly atmosphere and some really exciting racing! Texas Motor Speedway will be hosting a different theme night for each of the weeks, including Hawaiian night to kick the summer off.  If you wear a Hawaiian shirt out to the speedway June 23, you will receive half off your admission!  Grandstand admission is $10 for adults, $5 for kids, and free for those three and under.  Gates open each night at 6:30 p.m. with racing getting underway at 8 p.m.  Parking is free at Gate 4 and coolers are allowed.  For more information, please call Texas Motor Speedway’s Ticket Office at (817) 215-8500.

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 11 Fri
Jul 18 Fri
Jul 25 Fri
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun