Texas Motor Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway

Announcements from TMS

Texas Motor Speedway Jet Dryer trucks in Arlington to assist Super Bowl

by kgarza | 02/05/2011

FORT WORTH, Texas  -- Texas Motor Speedway’s two jet dryer trucks were in Arlington on Saturday to assist the North Texas Super Bowl Committee in preparing the neighboring parking lots for Sunday’s Super Bowl XLV at Cowboys Stadium.

The modified Chevrolet pick-up trucks that are equipped with a Learjet engine, which are used to dry or blow debris from Texas Motor Speedway’s high-banked, 1.5-mile oval, were being used to melt and blow ice and snow from the parking lots at The Ballpark in Arlington that will be utilized Sunday for additional Super Bowl parking.

Each truck, with a 60- to 80-foot wide coverage area, carries 450 gallons of jet fuel and utilizes six gallons a minute in blowing or drying a surface. Each engine produces 2,250 pounds of thrust and the air being emitted is at 500 degrees.

The trucks were contracted by the North Texas Super Bowl Committee months ago as a precaution should inclement weather hit the area during Super Bowl week. The Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex has been dealing with snow and extremely icy road conditions throughout the week.

Upcoming Race Fan Events

Jul 25 Fri
Jul 26 Sat
Aug 16 Sat
Sep 06 Sat
Sep 07 Sun
Sep 12 Fri
Sep 13 Sat
Oct 03 Fri
Oct 04 Sat
Oct 05 Sun
Oct 30 Thu
Oct 31 Fri
Nov 01 Sat
Nov 02 Sun